Breaking News: Venus Williams Pulls Out of US Open

As I was walking inside of Arthur Ashe Stadium less than 30 minutes ago, it was announced that Venus Williams withdrew from the US Open due to injury.  Following is a statement released by the US Open.

“I’m really disappointed to have to withdraw from this year’s US Open.  I have been recently diagnosed with Sjogren’s Syndrome, an autoimmune disease which is an ongoing medical condition that affects my energy levels and causes fatigue and joint pain.”

“I enjoyed playing my first match here and wish I could continue but right now I am unable to.  I am thankful I finally have a diagnosis and am now focused on getting netter and returning to the court soon.”

We will update you as soon as we hear any additional information regarding the health of Venus Williams.

About RazzandJazzSports

The Razz and Jazz Sports Blog was created by Marc "Razz" Rasbury and Derrel "Jazz" Johnson to create fresh opinions on New York Sports and beyond from two credentialed members of the media.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breaking News: Venus Williams Pulls Out of US Open

  1. Terrible that the match between her and Sabine Lisicki never got to be played.

Leave a comment