Brooklyn Nets Still An Option for Deron Williams by Derrel “Jazz” Johnson

What NBA Team Will Land Deron Williams?

What NBA Team Will Land Deron Williams?

Deron Williams was on the West Coast last week at the L.A. Convention Center on Wednesday fpr the E3 Expo. Williams was there to promote NBA Baller Beats, a video game that features him on the cover. It will be released in September.

Williams has a player option for $17.8 million next season with the Brooklyn Nets, but most expect him to opt out in lieu of a big deal. While much of what Williams said during the season indicated that he was not going to stay with the Nets, some of his comments last week suggest the Nets are still in the hunt.

Williams talked about the type of NBA team he wants to play for next season. “I want to go to a place where I feel like they will have a chance to build and build fast. “I’m not really in the mood for being part of a rebuilding process. I’m getting older. I’m about to be 28. I want to win. I want to win now. Also, I want to live in a place where I want to live and my kids will enjoy living. That’s pretty much it.”

He also expressed some excitement about the Nets move to Brooklyn. “The move to Brooklyn is definitely going to be huge. That’s first and foremost.” Williams then went on to praise the Nets organization. “I’m very confident in management there. I like Coach Avery Johnson and I like playing for him. Like I said, the move to Brooklyn could be huge. It’ll be a fun thing to be a part of.”

Williams also denied rumors that he would only be willing to stay if the Nets acquired Dwight Howard from the Orlando Magic. “I didn’t say that. It’s not how I feel. I don’t think I’m going to base my decision, my family’s decision on somebody else coming to a team or not. I have to make a decision that’s best for me and my family. That’s what I’m going to do.”

With the talent and skill his possesses on and off the basketball court, dozens of NBA teams would love to have the services of Deron Williams. With a new home, a new name, and, perhaps a new fan base, the Brooklyn Nets hope that they will continue to have him in a Nets uniform. A move elsewhere by Williams would be devastating to the franchise.

About RazzandJazzSports

The Razz and Jazz Sports Blog was created by Marc "Razz" Rasbury and Derrel "Jazz" Johnson to create fresh opinions on New York Sports and beyond from two credentialed members of the media.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

